That state of Pennsylvania does not prohibit the use of handheld cell phones,
meaning that talking on your cell phone is not against the law. However,
if you are driving in Philadelphia, the use of handheld cell phones while
driving is banned. The fine for the first offense is $150, while the second
offense is a $300 fine.
All Pennsylvania drivers are prohibited from texting while driving, which
means that you are not allowed to send, read, or write a text-based message
while operating a motor vehicle. A text-based message is defined as a
text message, email, instant message through social media, or other written
communication composed or received on an interactive wireless communication
The fine for violating the state’s texting laws is $50. Pennsylvania’s
texting law is considered a “primary” law, meaning that a
police officer can pull you over for the offense without having to witness
some other violation.
If you suffered an injury in a car accident caused by a distracted driver
who was texting or using their cell phone while driving, you may recover
financial compensation. Contact our Philadelphia personal injury attorney
at Golomb & Honik, P.C. today.